The following people were conferred with the Māori Translators and/or Interpreters Licence and were certified under Section 15(2) c of the Māori Language Act 1987. This list is not complete as we do not have contact details for all licence holders.

Please email Janine@tetaurawhiri.govt.nz to update your contact details. 

Details:
15(2) (a) Passed in oral expression only
15(2) (b) Passed in written expression only
15(2) (c) Passed in oral and written
AM Awarded on merit
UNV Unverified/Incomplete information
N/A Not available for Court duties 

Ko ngā Rohe

KAITAIA

       

Name

Tribe

Email Address

Grade

Category

Karani Brown

Ngā Puhi

N/A

15 (2) b

 

Te Rāhipere Mangutauira

Ngāti Hine

 

  lala_tauira@outlook.com

15 (2) b

 

Tatiana Thompson

Ngatī Manawa

N/A

15 (2) a 

 

Kerei Mangonui James

Te Rarawa
Ngāti Kahu
Ngā Puhi

 

15 (2) a

 

Hemo Kuia Kaye Allpress

Ngā Puhi

N/A

15 (2) a

 

Dr Patu Hohepa

Ngā Puhi

pathohepa@vodafone.co.nz

AM

Kaiako
Whare Wānanga
Whare Kōti
Reo Irirangi
Pouaka Whakaata

Mere Mangu Ngāti Hine  merem@outlook.co.nz 15 (2) c  
Joy Ngaropo-Hau Te Rarawa,

Ngā Puhi

toiora49@gmail.com 15 (2) c

Health
Pouaka Whakaata,
Reo Irirangi

WHANGĀREI

 

 

 

 

Name

Iwi

Email Address

Grade

Category

Pane Cooper

Ngā Puhi
Te Orewai
Ngāti Hine
Ngāti te Rarawa

N/A

15 (2) c

Whare Kōti

Ngāwini Shortland

Ngā Puhi

N/A

15 (2) a

 

Tame Te Rangi

Ngāti Whātua Ngāpuhi

tame.terangi@ngatiwhatua.iwi.nz

 

15 (2) a

Whare Kōti, Ture, Hākinakina

AUCKLAND

       

Name

Iwi

Email Address

Grade

Category

Evelyn Tobin 

MNZM, JP

Ngā Puhi kotare@ihug.co.nz 15 (2) c Education

Broadcasting

Prose & Poetical

Tane Karamaina

Ngāti Whanaunga, Ngāti Apakura, Te Rarawa

takaramaina@gmail.com

 

15(2) (a)

 

 

Māhia Nathan

Te Aupōuri

Ngāti Mahuta

mnathan@manukau.ac.nz

15 (2) c

 

Rāpata Te Rima Newson

Te Rarawa

Te Aupōuri

bobgemnewson@gmail.com

15 (2) c

(Endorsed)

Taha Ture

Kaiako

Whare Kōti

Joseph Peter Ramanui

Ngā Puhi, Ngāti Awa

 

 

15 (2) c

 

 

Rahera Shortland

Ngā Puhi

Rahera.s@xtra.co.nz  

15 (2) c

Kaiako

Whare Kōti

Mahi Pāpāho

Pouaka Whakaata

Kororia Taumaunu

Ngāti Porou

kororia.taumaunu@maoritelevision.com

 

15 (2) c

Pouaka Whakaata

Reo Irirangi

Mahi Hākinakina

Mahi Pāpāho

Rangi Pouwhare

Ngāi Tūhoe

 

AM

Whare Kōti

Mahi Hauora

Mahi Pāpāho

Reo Irirangi

Pouaka Whakaata

Kaa  Kataraina Kathleen Williams

Ngāi Tūhoe

Ngāti Kahungunu

Ngāti Maniapoto

ttrw@twt.ac.nz

AM

Kaiako

Kōhanga Reo

Kura Kaupapa Māori

Wharekura

Kuratini

Whare Wānanga Pāngarau

Pouaka Whakaata

Rodney Arthur Stewart Bethan Ngāti Maniapoto   15 (2) c   

Hariata Pōhatu

Ngāti Porou

ruatahi@clear.net.nz

15 (2) c

 

Hone Sadler

Ngā Puhi

h.sadler@auckland.ac.nz

15 (2) c

 

Joe Te Rito

Ngāti Kahungunu

Rongomaiwahine

jsterito@xtra.co.nz

15 (2) a

 

Ratu Tuhou Tibble

 

Ngāti Porou

rtibble@gmail.com

15 (2) c

 

Tamahou McGarvey Ngāi Tūhoe tpmacg@hotmail.com

 

15(2) c  
Yvonne Te Wanihi Edwards Ngāti Awa, Ngāi Tūhoe Yvonne.edwards@maoritelevision.com 15 (2) b Whare Kōti, Reo Irirangi, Pouaka Whakaata
Pania Papa  Ngāti Raukawa, Waikato paniapapa@gmail.com 15 (2) c Pāpāho, hākinakina, mahi whakaako, pūtaiao, mātauranga, Tari Kāwanatanga
Stephanie Huriana Fong Te Rarawa stephanie@paetultd.com  15 (2) b  
 Oriini Kaipara

 Tūhoe, Ngāti Tūwharetoa, Ngāti Awa, Ngāti Rangitihi

 oriininz@gmail.com  15 (2) b  
Hēmi Dale Te Rarawa, Te Aupōuri hemi.dale@auckland.ac.nz
 15(2)C  
Hinurewa Poutu Ngāti Rangi, Te Āti Haunui-a-Pāpārangi, Ngāti Maniapoto hpoutu@xtra.co.nz  15 (2) c
 
Nikora Wharerau Ngāti Hine, Ngāpuhi Nikora.Wharerau@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz  15(2) (b)   
Michael (Moari) Stafford Ngāti Apakura, Rereahu and Ngāti Te Wehi moaristafford@gmail.com  15(2) (a)  

HAMILTON

       

Name

Iwi

Email Address

Grade

Category

Tom Roa Ngāti Maniapoto 

Waikato

tomroa@waikato.ac.nz 15 (2) c  
Kingi Kiriona

Waikato-maniapoto - Raukawa

Ngāti Apakura - Ngāti Maihi

kingi.kiriona@outlook.com  15 (2) c  
Rawinia Mere Te Uia White Ngāti Awa rawinia4@xtra.co.nz 15 (2) b  
Rodger Brian Lewis Pākehā

(Raukawa-Tainui dialect)

ahotaki3@gmail 15 (2) c  
Moetū Tipene Davis   moetu.teorewai@gmail.com

 

15 (2) c  
Te Kāhautu Maxwell Te Whakatōhea

Te Whānau-a-Apanui

Ngāi Tūhoe

Ngāti Awa

Ngāti Porou

Ngāi Tai

Ngāti Maniapoto

tmaxwell@waikato.ac.nz 15 (2) c  
Pou Temara  Ngāi Tūhoe mauriora@waikato.ac.nz 15 (2) c  

Che Wilson

Ngāti Rangi

Whanganui

chewilson.ohakune@gmail.com

15 (2) c

 
Waldo Houia Ngāti Porou waldo.houia@wananga.ac.nz 15 (2) c  
Heeni Hope Waikato heeni.h@xtra.co.nz 15 2 (a)  
Te Wharehuia Milroy Ngāi Tūhoe otenuku@xtra.co.nz AM  
Hone Edwards Ngāti Maniapoto
Ngāti Hikairo
Ngāti Paoa
 
hHone.Edwards@maoritelevision.com 15 (2) c

Whare Kōti

Pāpāho

Reo Irirangi

Pouaka Whakaata
Leon Blake

Tūhoe

Tūhourangi

Ngāti Wāhiao

Ngāti Porou

Ngāti Maniapoto

Taranaki

Ngāti Kahungunu
kounga.ltd@gmail.com 

 
15 (2) c Education

Justice

Broadcasting

 Ngareta Gabel

Ngāti Kahu

Te Paatu

ngareta.gabel@kaperi.co.nz
 15 (2) c back to top

TOKOROA

       

Name

Iwi

Email Address

Grade

Category

Jarred Lee Boon

Ngāti Maniapoto

Jarred.boon@waiariki.ac.nz 

15 (2) b

 
        back to top

WHAKATĀNE

       

Name

Iwi

Email Address

Grade

Category

Hiria Hape Ngāi Tūhoe

Te Whakatōhea

hiria.hape@tpk.govt.nz 15 (2) c Broadcastings; Corporate text

Legal text; Technical

Mātauranga; Whare Kōti

Tamati Waaka Ngāi Tūhoe Tamati.waaka@wananga.ac.nz 15 (2) c  

Hēmana Clifford Waaka

Ngāi Tūhoe

Ngāti Pukeko

 

15 (2) b

 

Matu Te Pou

Ngāi Tūhoe

matu@inspire.net.nz

15 (2) c

 

Nāreta Pouwhare

Ngāi Tūhoe

Naretapouwhare10@gmail.com

 15 (2) a

 

Patrick McGarvey Tūhoe pmmcgarvey@hotmail.com 15 (2) c  
        back to top

TE TEKO

       

Name

Iwi

Email Address

Grade

Category

Hēmana Eruera. MNZM. JP.

Ngāti Awa

Hemana.eruera@tpk.govt.nz

 

15 (2) a

 
        back to top

ROTORUA

     

 

Name

Iwi

Email Address

Grade

Category

Joe Te Poroa Malcolm Te Arawa  teporoa@gmail.com

 

AM  
Te Haumihiata Mason Ngāi Tūhoe  tehautu2@xtra.co.nz

 

15 (2) c  
Te Wainamu Cairns Harvey Ngāi Tūhoe N/A 15 (2) c  
Waireti

Tait-Rolleston

Ngāi Tūhoe

Te Arawa

N/A AM

 

Maika Te Amo Tapuika - Te Arawa tumu@matalingual.nz 15 2 (c)  
Paiheke McGarvey  Ngāi Tūhoe
Te Arawa
Te Whakatōhea
paiheke@hotmail.com 15 (2) c  
Kanapu Rangitauira

Te Arawa

Ngāti Porou

Te Whakatōhea

kanapu@gmail.com Both  
 Tawini Rangihau  Ngāi Tūhoe  tawini@tearawafm.com  15 (2) c back to top
        back to top

RUATŌRIA

     

 

Name

Iwi

Email Address

Grade

Category

Wiremu Māngai Kaa Ngāti Porou kamiti@xtra.co.nz AM  
        back to top

GISBORNE

     

 

Name

Iwi

Email Address

Grade

Category

Rīpeka Te Irikaraka Harrison Ngāti Porou N/A 15 (2) c  
 Gaylene Ripongarangi Taitapanui Tuuhoe/Whakatoohea gaylenetaitapanui2@gmail.com  15(2) (a) back to top

WAIROA

       

Name

Iwi

Email Address

Grade

Category

         

Mana Elizabeth Hunkin

Ngāti Kahungunu

Ngāti Porou

Ngā Puhi

Ngāi Tūhoe

manauea23@gmail.com

15 (2) c

Kaiako

Whare Kōti

   

 

 

back to top

NAPIER/ HASTINGS

       

Name

Iwi

Email Address

Grade

Category

Hiria Tūmoana Ngāi Tūhoe htumoana@eit.ac.nz 15(2) c Mahi Hākinakina

Kaiako

Kōhanga Reo

Kura Kaupapa Māori Wharekura Kuratini

Whare Wānanga Mahi Pāpāho

Reo Irirangi

Pouaka Whakaata

Matiu Nohokau Eru Ngāi Tūhoe   15 (2) c  
Paraone Wiki Te Aupōuri wiki.whanau@xtra.co.nz 15 (2) a   
Ripeka Wiki Ngāti Porou wiki.whanau@xtra.co.nz 15 (2) c   
Hone Waengarangi Morris Ngāti Kahungunu

Rongowhakaata

Rangitāne

Waengarangi311@gmail.com

 

15 (2) c Hangarau; Pūtaiao

Kaiako; Kōhanga reo

Kura Kaupapa Māori

Wharekura; Whare Wānanga

 

 Jeremy Tātere MacLeod  Ngāti Kahungunu  jeremy@kahungunu.iwi.nz  15 (2) c back to top

WHANGANUI

       

Name

Iwi

Email Address

Grade

Category

Ngāhuia Graham Mathews

Ngāti Apa

Ngāti Kahungunu

N/A

15 (2) c

Whare Kōti

Julie Te Turi Ranginui

Ngāti Apa

Ngāti Kahungunu

 

15 (2) b

 
        back to top

NEW PLYMOUTH / TARANAKI

       

Name

Iwi

Email Address

Grade

Category

Keri Opai

 

Te Ati Āwa

Ngāti Ruanui

Ngāti Te Ata

Ngāti Porou

keri.opai@tepou.co.nz

15 (2) c

Ngā momo kōrero katoa

 
Kiwa Hammond Ngāti Kahungunu ki Te Wairoa

Ngāti Ruapani Rongowhakaata Nunuku Rongomaiwhenua (Moriori)

kiwa@aatea.co.nz 15 (2) c Hangarau

Mahi Hākinakina

Mātauranga

Whare Kōti

Hauora

Mahi Pāpāho

Reo Irirangi

Huirangi Waikerepuru

Taranaki

 

15 (2) c

 
         
Marina Hineara Parata Ngāti Ruanui

Ngāti Maniapoto

  15 (2) c Kaiako

Kōhanga Reo

Kuratini

        back to top

PALMERSTON NORTH

       

Name

Iwi

Email Address

Grade

Category

         
Ian Christensen Ngāti Pākehā ian@kupengahao.co.nz

 

15 (2) c  
Emma Edna Collier Ngāti Porou N/A 15 (2) a Kaiako

Kuratini

Reo Irirangi

Tangihoro Fitzgerald

Ngāti Porou

 Tangihoro@gmail.com

15 (2) c

 
        back to top

LEVIN / ŌTAKI

       

Name

Iwi

Email Address

Grade

Category

Hēni Jacob Ngāti Raukawa

  henijacob@henijacob.nz

15 (2) c Ngā momo kōrero katoa

Ruiha Louie Ruwhiu

Te Whānau-a- Apanui

Ngāti Awa

Ngā Puhi

 

15 (2) c

 

Petina Winiata

Ngāti Raukawa

Ngāti Awa

Ngāti Whakaue

Ngāti Maru

Petina.winiata@twor-otaki.ac.nz  

15 (2) c

 
        back to top

WELLINGTON

       

Name

Iwi

Email Address

Grade

Category

Ranea Aperahama  Muriwhenua, Ngāti Tūwharetoa, Mōrehu Ranea.Aperahama@tepapa.govt.nz  15(2) (c)  
Wena Tait Tūhoe
Te Arawa
  15 2 (c)
 
 
Joseph MacDougall Ngāi Tūhoe hohepa.macdougall@kinect.co.nz 15 (2) c  
Piripi Walker Ngāti Raukawa piripi@reo.co.nz 15 (2) c  
Maiki Sherman Ngāpuhi, Te Whakatōhea, Tainui maiki.sherman@tvnz.co.nz
15 (2) c  
Danny Makamaka Turuwhenua Ngāi Tūhoe danny.makamaka@twoa.ac.nz

 

15 (2) a   
Brian Morris Ngāti Kahungunu Rongowhakaata brian.morris@huia.co.nz 15 (2) c Taha Ture

Mahi Hākinakina

Mātauranga

Te Ripowai Higgins Ngāi Tūhoe teripowai.higgins@vuw.ac.nz AM  

Holden Hohaia

Ngāti Maru

Ngāti Ruanui

Taranaki

 

15 (2) c

Pūtaiao

Taha Ture

Pāngarau

Whakapakari Tinana

Lee Smith

  lee@tetaurawhiri.govt.nz    
Kararaina Uatuku Ngāi Tūhoe kararaina@tetaurawhiri.govt.nz 15 (2) b  
Te Tūmatakuru O'Connell Ngāti Raukawa

Ngāi te Rangi

2matakuru@gmail.com 15 (2) c Kōti

Ipurangi

Rorohiko

Ngāhiwi-o-Kahimia Apanui

Ngāti Porou

Ngāti Hine

Te Whānau a Apanui

 ngahiwi.apanui@xtra.co.nz

15 (2) c

 

 
Te Manu Te Awa Ngā Puhi   15 (2) c Hangarau

Pūtaiao

Mahi Hākinakina

Mahi Kaute

Pāngarau

Mātauranga

Pita Hekerangi Tamiana Ngāi Tūhoe peterht@xtra.co.nz  15 (2) a  
Tama Paku Rongomaiwahine

Ngāti Kahungunu

Rākaipaaka

  15 (2) a Mahi Hākinakina

Mahi Hauora

Whakapakari Tinana

Mahi Pāpāho

George Kōnia Ngāti Porou

George.konia@vuw.ac.nz

15 (2) a  
Ian Cormack Kāti Māmoe

Kai Tahu

Waitaha

ian@cormack.co.nz

 

15 (2) c  
Wareko Te Angina Ngāti Tūwharetoa

Ngāti Apa

eohoehoa@gmail.com 
 
15 (2) b  
Te Whareumu Uhinga Davis Te Whakatōhea tewhareumu@ihug.co.nz 15 (2) b  

John Tait

Ngāi Tūhoe

Te Arawa

N/A

15 (2) a

 
Kawata Teepa Ngāi Tūhoe

Kawata.teepa@huia.co.nz

15 (2) c  

Muru Walters

Te Rarawa

muru.walters@xtra.co.nz

AM

Mahi Hākinakina

Mahi Kaute

Mātauranga

Reo Irirangi

Tamati Cairns

Ngāi Tūhoe

tamati.cairns@xtra.co.nz

15 (2) c

Mātauranga

Mahi Pāpāho

Kahu O'Connell     15(2)a  
Stephen Chrisp Ngāti Pākehā

Tipene.chrisp@gmail.com

15 (2) c  
Stephanie Ira Pohe   paora.steph@gmail.com 15 (2) b  
Paora Tibble
 
Ngāti Porou

Tūwharetoa

Ngāti Raukawa

Te Whānau-a-Apanui

  15 (2) b  
Basil Keane Ngāti Kahungunu

Rangitāne


Ngāpuhi

bazkeane@gmail.com 15 (2) c  
Doug Hauraki

Ngāti Porou

doug@haurakiwhanau.co.nz  15 (2) c  
 Karena Kelly

Ngāti Hine

Nga Puhi

 karena@purata.nz  15 (2) b  
Paora Ammunson

Te Arawa

Wairarapa

Paora.Ammunson@tec.govt.nz 15 (2) c  
Donna-Lee Ngaringi Katipa Waikato-Maniapoto / Raukawa ki te Kaokaoroa o Patetere

 

ngaringi.katipa@nzqa.govt.nz  15 (2) c
 
Vincent Olsen-Reeder Ngā Pōtiki a Tamapahore olsen.vincent@gmail.com  15(2) (c)
 

CHRISTCHURCH

       

Name

Iwi

Email Address

Grade

Category

Mita Ted Te Hae

Tainui

Ngāti Hikairo

ted.tehae@cdhb.govt.nz 

15 (2) c

 
Piripi Kingi Waretini Tainui, 

Ngāti Maniapoto

tukaha@live.com 15 (2) a Taha Ture; Mahi Hākinakina

Mātauranga; Whare Kōti

Mahi Hauora; Mahi Pāpāho

Whakapakari Tinana

        back to top

DUNEDIN

       

Name

Iwi

Email Address

Grade

Category

Karaka (Clark Roberts) Rāpata

Te Aupōuri

Ngāti Kurī

N/A

15 (2) a

 

Hiria Singe

Ngāti Porou

N/A

15 (2) a

 

Lorraine Johnston 

NA

 ljohnston@slingshot.co.nz

15 (2) c 

 

Dr Poia Rewi

Ngāi Tūhoe

Ngāti Manawa

Te Arawa

poia.rewi@otago.ac.nz

15 (2) c

 

Matiu Ratima Whakatōhea /  Ngāti Pūkeko matiu.ratima5@gmail.com 15(2)c Kaiako Whare Wānanga Whare Kōti
        back to top

INVERCARGILL

       

Name

Iwi

Email Address

Grade

Category

Myra Jean Clarke

Ngā Puhi

N/A

15 (2) c

 

RSS Feed